Home » News » INEC registers 21 new parties

INEC registers 21 new parties

The electoral commission, INEC, has registered 21 new political parties. This was made known in a statement by May Agbmuche-Mbu. The new registrations bring the total number of parties in Nigeria to 67.

The announcement was made at the usual weekly meeting of The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) held on Thursday. Other issues concerning the findings on the allegation of double registration by the Governor of Kogi State and the outstanding Anambra Central Senatorial re-run election were also discussed.

The following associations have fulfilled the Constitutional requirements for registration as political parties:

1. All Blending Party ABP
2. All Grassroots Alliance AGA
3. Alliance for New Nigeria ANN
4. Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party ANRP
5. Coalition for Change C4C
6. Freedom and Justice Party FJP
7 Grassroots Development Party of Nigeria GDPN
8. Justice Must Prevail Party JMPP
9. Legacy Party of Nigeria LPN
10 Mass Action Joint Alliance MAJA
11. Modern Democratic Party MDP
12 National Interest Party NIP
13. National Rescue Mission NRM
14. New Progressive Movement NPM
15. Nigeria Democratic Congress Party NDCP
16. People’s Alliance for National Development and Liberty PANDEL
17. People’s Trust PT
18. Providence People’s Congress PPC
19. Re-Build Nigeria Party RBNP
20. Restoration Party of Nigeria RP
21. Sustainable National Party SNP

With this development, the total number of registered political parties in Nigeria is now 67.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: