Home » News » United States adds Venezuela, North Korea and Chad to ban list

United States adds Venezuela, North Korea and Chad to ban list

The United States will prohibit entry of citizens from North Korea to the nation as part of a sweeping new travel ban that also slaps restrictions on Iran, Chad, Libya, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen and Somalia, the Trump administration said on Sunday.
The bans and restrictions do not have any time limits; in effect, they are indefinite.
The new restrictions, slated to go into effect on October 18, resulted from a review after President Donald Trump’s original travel bans were challenged in court.
Trump tweeted Sunday: ‘Making America safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet.’
The addition of North Korea and Venezuela broadens the restrictions from the original, mostly Muslim-majority list.


‘North Korea does not cooperate with the United States government in any respect and fails to satisfy all information-sharing requirements,’ the proclamation said.
An administration official, briefing reporters on a conference call, acknowledged that the number of North Koreans travelling to the United States now was very low.


Justifying the inclusion of Chad, the release reads: ‘The government of Chad is an important and valuable counterterrorism partner of the United States, and the United States Government looks forward to expanding that cooperation, including in the areas of immigration and border management.
‘Chad has shown a clear willingness to improve in these areas.
‘Nonetheless, Chad does not adequately share public-safety and terrorism-related information and fails to satisfy at least one key risk criterion.
‘Additionally, several terrorist groups are active within Chad or in the surrounding region, including elements of Boko Haram, ISIS-West Africa, and al-Qa’ida in the Islamic Maghreb.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: