Home » Sports » Eagles camp to open on October 2, Invites Mikel, Ighalo, Musa

Eagles camp to open on October 2, Invites Mikel, Ighalo, Musa

The Super Eagles of Nigeria will return to camp on October 2nd in Uyo to begin further preparations in the bid to Qualify for Russia 2018 . The match against the Chipolopolo of Zambia, which could confirm Nigeria’s qualification for the Russia 2018 World Cup, will hold on October 7 at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo.

Super Eagles’ Media Officer, Toyin Ibitoye yesterday revealed that the list of invited players will be released by the technical crew, led by Gernot Rohr, this week. He also mentioned that arrangements were on ground to provide a conducive environment for the Super Eagles to fly over the Zambians, who need an outright win to stop Nigeria from qualifying for the global football fiesta.

“The Super Eagles players’ list for the World Cup qualifier will be out on Monday or Tuesday. The necessary logistics have been put in place for the camp to open next week Monday. Rohr has said that sentiments would not be applied in the team selection for the encounter, and players would only be invited based on current performance at their club-sides.

Plans are already underway for Quality grade A friendlies to be played, in preparation for the World cup once our participation is confirmed on October 7″ Ibitoye explained.


The list officially revealed my Gernot Rorh is thus;

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Ayodele Ajiboye (Plateau United FC)

Defenders: William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Elderson Echiejile (Sivasspor FC, Turkey); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai, China); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

STANDBY: Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Afeez Aremu (Akwa United); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: